The New Seven Wonders of the World

Ultimately, any list of the Seven Wonders of the World is a bit subjective based on the individual or group that created the list. However, the following places were dubbed the new Seven Wonders of the World in 2007 and still are largely regarded as such.

1. Chichén Itzá, Mexico

The stepped pyramids and temples of this ancient Mayan City were sacred to the Maya and the center of the Mayan Empire from 750 A.D – 1200 A.D. The most recognizable structure in the once urban center of the empire is the Temple of Kukulkan, otherwise known as El Castillo. This pyramid explains the accuracy of Maya astronomy, including the 365 steps which are for each day of the year.

No one knows why the Mayan people abandoned the city of Chichén Itzá in the 1400s. Leaving behind fantastic works of architecture, art and science, many scientists contemplate droughts and royal quests for conquest and treasure as reasons for desertion.

2. Christ Redeemer, Brazil

the new seven wonders of the world 

At 120 feet tall, Christ the Redeemer (O Cristo Redentor) is located in Rio de Janiero and is the second largest statue of Christ in the world.
In 1921, donations were collected for a privately-funded Christian monument to be built atop Corcovado peak rising 2,000 feet over the city of Rio. Numerous designs were considered including a large cross and a statue of Christ holding a globe. Ultimately, the design was settled and the statue of Christ with his arms wide open was completed in 1931.

3. The Great Wall, China

the new seven wonders of the world Construction of the Great Wall began in 200 B.C. and continued up to the Ming dynasty (1368-1644) where the Great Wall of China became the world’s largest military structure at a length of 21,196 kilometers (13,170 miles) from east to west of China. This masterpiece is the only work built by human hands that can be seen from the moon!


As one of the new Seven Wonders of the World and a World Heritage site since 1987, the Great Wall of China winds through deserts, grasslands and mountains. With a rich history, this is one of the most appealing attractions across the world given its architectural grandeur and historical significance.

4. Machu Picchu, Peru

the new seven wonders of the world 

Machu Picchu was believed to have been a royal estate or sacred religion site for Inca leaders before being taken over by the Spanish invaders in the 16th century. Until 1911, the site remained unknown to the modern world tucked away in the tropical mountain forest of the Peruvian Andes. Another manmade wonder, Machu Picchu attracts hundreds of thousands of tourists every year to see the sun set over an architectural and agricultural masterpiece.

5. Petra, Jordan – Ancient City

the new seven wonders of the world 

Petra, Jordan is known for is rock-cut architecture and water conduit system. This ancient city is a symbol of Jordan and the country’s most visited tourist attraction. Widely unknown to the western world until discovered by a Swiss explorer in 1812, this rose-colored city may have been established as early as 312 BC. Petra was a booming caravan trade center during the time of Christ. Petra’s biggest monument is the Monastery, which sits at the top of an 800-step rock-cut path carved directly into the mountainside. Truly a place of untold secrets, Petra tops the list of places to see before you die.

6. The Roman Colosseum, Italy

Construction dates back to 72 A.D. and this amphitheater was home to some of the most cruel fights and games during the Roman Empire. In addition to fights and games, the Colosseum was used for contests and public spectacles such as mock sea battles, animal hunts, and dramas based on Classical mythology. Later, it was used for workshops, housing, a quarry, and a Christian shrine. The Colosseum remains one of the most visited tourist places in Italy. Given its convenient location in central Rome, the Roman Colosseum is often the first new 7 wonders of the world that most can cross off their bucket list.

7. The Taj Mahal, India

the new seven wonders of the world 

The Taj Mahal is located in Agra, India on the banks of the Yamuna River. It was built to house the tomb of Mughan emperor Shah Jahan’s favorite wife, Mumtaz Maha. There were two goals with the building of the Taj Mahal. First, Shah Jahan aimed to construct the largest mausoleum in the world and second to produce a masterpiece of classical symmetry. Both aims were achieved with this architectural masterpiece. It was said that, “It will be a masterpiece for ages to come, increasing the amazement of all humanity.”

You can’t go travel abroad without reading this – get the FREE ebook now!

Enter your email to see what you must do to prepare for any international trip. You’ll get actionable steps that will ensure you’re fully prepared and avoid unnecessary mishaps!

4 thoughts on “The New Seven Wonders of the World”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Popular Posts

Tuscany has long been associated with breathtaking scenery and some of Italy’s best made wines. In this enchanting landscape of rolling hills and winding roads,

Read More »

Far from your average medieval church, the most exquisite spiritual centers in England, Scotland, and Wales are a testament to the imagination and meticulous craftsmanship

Read More »

Passport changes have come in last year, and if you plan on traveling in the future you need to be well-versed in these changes. While

Read More »

Deciding on things to do in Ireland can prove difficult as there is so much to see with beauty around every corner. There are certainly

Read More »

Recent Posts

Share This Story!
Share on facebook
Share on twitter

Join Us!

Stay up to date with news, travel tips, and destination inspiration.